Main MASCS Logo

Saturday January 28th, 2017

2017 Banquet Invitation2 / 2017 Banquet Form

Main Photo Rotation

By: Advanced Racing Association PR

CLERMONT, Ind. (July 16) – A veteran was a rookie at Lucas Oil Raceway Saturday evening, but Bill Prietzel used his wily veteran ways to win the inaugural Iron Brigade 100. The former Mid-American Stock Car Series multi-champion took the lead from Advance Racing Association driver Tim Salyers on Lap 43 during the co-sanctioned event and led the rest of the way in his first visit to the famed facility. That completed a clean sweep for the West Allis, Wis. pilot. He also was the $100 Tri-County Plumbing Fast Qualifier and won the $250 bonus for leading the Meineke Car Care Center Halfway Challenge.

By the way, he won on his 40th wedding anniversary. “These ARA guys are tough drivers,” Prietzel said. “We had a little better set up and we even changed it at the halfway stop.” Salyers, Clayton, Ind., stayed close for a while before falling back at the end. “We ran out of driver and ran out of racecar at the end,” Salyers said. “We picked up a push, but it was a good finish.”

“The last 15 laps I eased off a bit because I didn’t see anybody in my mirror,” Prietzel said. “We really enjoyed this. I don’t feel too bad, but a little tired.”

Bret Widdis, Mark Pluer and Michael Lange, all MASCS competitors, rounded out the Top Five. Teenage sisters Claire and Paige Decker were the last two cars on the lead lap in sixth and seventh.

Current MASCS leader James Swan took the point from early leader Lange on Lap 20. Salyers beat him on a Lap 39 restart when Lange brushed the wall. Swan had to retire when his engine expired in flames on Lap 63.

The race was slowed just three times by caution. Actually, the race never started clean as a spinning Salyers collected four other cars in turn three right after the green flag flew. One of those was defending ARA Champion Keith Lyons, who was done for the night. Attrition was a big key as only nine of the 21 starters took the checkered flag.

Three-quarters of the starting field was inverted from qualifying giving 16th fast qualifier Michael Cline the pole and Prietzel started in the eighth row. Prietzel circled in 24.426 seconds and averaged 100.105 miles per hour in qualifying.

On Friday Jeremy Bloomberg was victorious in the 40-lap feature event at Grundy County Speedway. The full story is available here:

The next event for Mid-American is Friday, Aug. 5 at Norway Speedway in Norway, Mich. Lyle Nowak will be looking for three straight in the 40-lap Eh Main feature.

Norway Speedway is located on the Dickinson County Fairgrounds just off Highway 8 in Norway, Mich. For more information visit

Following are results from the Iron Brigade 100 Advance Racing Association/Mid-American Stock Car Series racing Saturday at Lucas Oil Raceway of Indianapolis.

ARACline Grain/MASCS Late Models Iron Brigade 100 –
1. Bill Prietzel, West Allis, WI, 100 laps 2. Tim Salyers, Clayton, IN, 100 3.Bret Widdis, Manistique, MI, 100 4. Mark Pluer, Brookfield, WI, 100 5. Michael Lange, West Allis, WI, 100 6. Claire Decker, Eagle River, WI, 100 7. Paige Decker, Eagle River, WI, 100 8. Lyle Nowak, Wausau, WI, 99 9. Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, IL, 98 10. Matt Pyburn, Wisconsin Rapids, WI, 67 11. James Swan, Genoa City, WI, 63 12. Nathan Long, Edinburgh, IN, 55 13. Michael Cline, New Ross, IN, 51 14. Danny Church, Big Bend, WI, 40 15. Jake Gibson, Indianapolis, IN, 40 16. Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc, WI, 29 17. Rick Tackman, Jr., Waukesha, WI, 35 18. Josh Cave, Brownsburg,IN, 29 19. Ryan Farrell, East Troy, IL, 18 20. A.J. Smith, Danville,IN, 1 21. Keith Lyons, Brownsburg, IN, 0

Fast qualifier – Prietzel, 24.426 seconds, 100.105 miles per hour

MASCS Marketing Partners

Marketing Partners
Click to view all of our partners.


Aug 12, 2014
Sopwith Motorsports TV 2014: Episode 3 - More Video